A Winning Formula

In August of 2011 Bjorn was granted a training license by Racing NSW and commenced Bjorn Baker Racing with only two boxes on-course at Warwick Farm.  It was a tough introduction to the competitive Sydney training ranks with initial disappointment.  However, showing the tenacity that would set him in good stead, Bjorn refocused himself and purchased a gelding, Sky Gaze, for $6,000 and on the 26th of September 2011 he provided Bjorn with his first winner as a sole trainer, taking out a 2000m race at Bathurst.

Through persistence and hard work which resulted in repeated success on the track, Bjorn has been able to grow the stable to incorporate 92 horse boxes with first class facilities.  The rapid expansion of his stable from 2 to 92 boxes shows Sydney owners (always quick to back a winner) have thrown their support behind him.

Some of his best seasons have been finishing 3rd in the NSW Trainers Premiership 2020/2021, 3rd in Sydney Metropolitan Trainers’ Premiership 2020/2021, and 4th in the Sydney Metropolitan Trainers’ Premiership in 2019/2020.

Below are some of the stable stars that Bjorn has trained to victory:

  • Music Magnate – 1st Group 1 Doomben 10,000, Group 2 Expressway Stakes, Group 2 Victory Stakes, Group 3 Hall Mark Stakes
  • Samadoubt – 1st Group 1 Winx Stakes, 1st Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes, 1st Listed Canberra Cup
  • Winning Rupert – 1st Group 2 Champagne Classic, Group 3 Vo Rogue Plate, Listed Gold Edition Stakes
  • She’s Ideel – 1st Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes, 2nd Group 1 Tancred, 3rd Group 1 Winx Stakes
  • Unencumbered – 1st Magic Millions 2yo Classic, Group 3 Bruce McLachlan Stakes and Wyong Magic Millions 2yo Classic
  • Positive Peace – 1st Group 2 Emancipation, 1st Group 3 Nivison
  • Havana Rey – 1st Group 2 Ajax Stakes
  • Twilight Royale – 1st Group 2 Sires’ Produce Stakes, 2012 Inglis Nursery and 2013 Inglis Premier
  • Imposing Lass – 1st Group 3 Belle of the Turf Stakes, Listed Gold Coast Bracelet
  • Lubiton – 1st Group 3 Tesio Stakes, Listed Mona Lisa Stakes
  • Addictive Nature – 1st Group 3 Ming Dynasty
  • Egyptian Symbol – 1st Group 3 Nivision Stakes, 1st Group 3 Toyshow Handicap, 1st Listed Starlight Stakes, $1m Magic Millions Sprint, 2nd Group 2 Breeders Classic, 2nd Group 2 Breeders Classic, 2nd Group 3 Glenlogan Park Stakes, 2nd Listed Darby Munro Stakes, 3rd Magic Millions $2m 3yo Guineas, 3rd Magic Millions $1m Sprint, 3rd Group 3 Vo Rogue Plate, 3rd Listed Fireball Stakes, 3rd Group 3 PJ Bell Stakes,
  • Champagne Cuddles – 1st Group 3 Gold Coast Guineas, 1st Group 2 Breeders Classic, 2nd Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes, 2nd Group 1 Flight Stakes, 2nd Group 2 Golden Pendant – twice, 2nd Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes, 2nd Group 2 Furious Stakes, 3rd Group 2 Silver Shadow Stakes, 3rd Group 1 Kingsford Smith cup, 3rd Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap, 3rd Listed Kensington Stakes, 3rd Group 3 Sheraco Stakes – twice
  • Redouble – 1st RL $1m Magic Millions Cup, 1st Listed Spear Chief Handicap
  • Irithea – 1st Group 3 Hawkesbury Crown, 1st Group 3 Dark Jewel, 2nd Group 3 Belle of the Turf, 2nd Group 2 Sapphire Stakes
  • Fun Fact – 1st Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes, 1st St Leger
  • Candelara – 1st Group 3 Adrian Know Stakes, 3rd Group 1 AJC Oaks
  • Goodfella – 1st Listed Crowley Stakes, 2nd Group 3 BJ McLachlan Stakes, 2nd, Magic Millions $2m 3yo Guineas, 2nd Group 3 Festival Stakes, 2nd Magic Millions $1m Trophy, 2nd Listed Winter Challenge, 3rd Group 3 Vo Rogue Plate.
  • Sir Plush – 1st Listed Gosford Cup
  • Bonny O’Reilly – 1st Listed Helen Coughlan Stakes
  • Coolring – 1st Listed Prime Minister’s Cup
  • Cantonese – 1st Listed Christmas Cup
  • Lady Sniper – 1st Listed Gosford Guineas
  • Zaratone – 1st Listed Starlight Stakes
  • Let It Pour – 2nd Listed Rosebud, 3rd Group 2 Silver Shadow Stakes, 3rd Group 3 Furious Stakes
  • Fuerza – 2nd Group 1 Champagne Stakes and Inglis Nursery
  • Connemara – 3rd Group 3 Tibbie Stakes, 3rd Listed Mona Lisa Stakes

Bjorn’s current stable includes She’s Ideel, Harpo Marx, Belluci Babe, Bring The Ransom, Malkovich, and Overpass – all recent winners.  Explore our stable news for the latest information and results.